If you feel that a user is bothering you.
Instagram is a popular platform for sharing videos and photographs. Its users are also increasing rapidly. On this platform, users share their videos and photos, so it is also important to keep privacy safe. Learn how to keep your privacy safe here.
Hide location data
You will probably never want anyone else to see the location data for each of your posts. If you want to remove the location data from your old post, first go to your post, you will find three dots at the top right side. After opening it, select the option to edit. There will be information about the location above the post which can be removed.
If you want that the location data is not shared even in your future posts, then in the iPhone user settings menu, navigate to the location services option and select the option “Never” for the Instagram app. After this, your location will not be shared automatically.
User can be blocked
If you feel that a user is bothering you, then like other social sites, the user can also be blocked on Instagram. In this way, you will be able to hide your future posts from him. For this,
- First, go to that user’s profile.
2. Then three dots will appear at the top right corner. On tapping it, an option to block the user will appear. From there, that user can be blocked.
Manual tag option
The Instagram default setting means that anyone can add videos and photos to your profile. But it would be good if you can prevent that from appearing automatically on your profile.
For this, you have to follow the steps as shown below:
On the Instagram app for iOS and Android devices
- Go to your profile and tap
- Tap Privacy > Tags.
- Now tap next to Add Automatically to switch this off.
On your computer or mobile browser
- Go to instagram.com on your mobile browser or computer.
- Click and then click
- Click Privacy and Security.
- Below Photos of You, select Add Manually or Add Automatically.
If you select Add Manually option, then after seeing the tag, you can approve it if you wish to add that photo or video to your profile.
Switch to a private account
If all these steps do not make you feel secure, then you can switch your account to a private account to secure your privacy on Instagram. If you do this, only your followers can see your post. For this, you have to go to the account settings, there you will see the option of a private account. You can change the Instagram account to a private account by toggling the switch button.